News: Employees

Filter

In 2014, the California Apartment Association helped kill a host of bad bills that would have, among other things, undermined the Ellis Act and encouraged jury trials in eviction disputes. And while CAA largely succeeded during the legislative session, a couple of bad bills made it to the governor’s desk.The fight continues – see our links to letters — as CAA and a broad coalition of business interests encourage Gov. Jerry Brown to veto the following two bills: Faulty legislation on the governor’s desk AB 1897 (D-Hernandez) – Labor: Client Liability: This bill would imposes strict liability on an employer… Read More

Tagged: Tri-County

On July 1, California’s minimum wage will increase from $8 to $9 an hour. It will increase again on Jan. 1, 2016, to $10/hour. These are the first increases since 2008. The lodging credit, which may be used to meet the minimum wage obligation for employees required to live on-site, will also increase. Minimum wage Lodging credit (one person) Lodging credit (couple) Current $8 $451.89 $668.46 July 1, 2014 $9 $508.38 $752.02 Jan. 1, 2016 $10 $564.81 $835.49 If you are paying minimum wage or using the lodging credit, update your agreement today. While you are automatically required to pay… Read More

Tagged: