Mountain View’s Rental Housing Committee last Monday adopted policies that will punish housing providers for offering discounted rents or rent concessions during the initial lease term. Under the newly amended…
If a rental unit is not subject to local rent control or AB 1482, and the state’s anti-price gouging law has not been triggered, market conditions determine the frequency and amount of rent increases.
If a local rent control ordinance or AB 1482 applies, there is a limit on both frequency and amount. If the anti-price gouging law applies, there is limit on amount.
The procedure for increasing rent is generally the same and depends on the amount of the increase. For an increase in rent that is 10 percent or less in any 12-month period, the landlord must provide at least 30 days’ advance written notice to a month-to-month resident.
If a unit is exempt from rent control and the state’s anti-price gouging law has not been triggered, for an increase in rent that is more than 10 percent, the landlord must provide at least 90-days’ advance notice to a month-to-month resident.
In the News
Governor issues new weather-related state of emergency for some counties As requested by the California Apartment Association, Gov. Newsom has removed caps on rent increases tied to most fire-related emergencies…
The California Apartment Association this week published an Industry Insights paper to address one of the most-asked questions in the rental housing business: “Can I raise the rent for my…