The U.S. Centers for Disease Control on Tuesday, Aug. 3, announced a revised nationwide eviction moratorium. The new moratorium – which replaces the previous version that lapsed on July 31 – now applies in counties with “substantial and high transmission” of the coronavirus.

At present, nearly 70% of counties in the United States fall into those categories and are thus subject to the moratorium. In California, all but one county, Modoc, is currently subject to the federal moratorium. A county must improve its transmission rates and not experience substantial or high transmission for 14 consecutive days to be relieved from the moratorium.

This resource contains member-only content

CAA members have access to compliance forms, educational tools, and extended news resources related to this topic.