New limits on rent increases are in effect after Gov. Newsom on Wednesday declared a state of emergency based on severe winter storms in 13 counties.

The counties named in the proclamation Wednesday include the following: Amador, Kern, Los Angeles, Madera, Mariposa, Mono, Nevada, San Bernadino, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sierra, Sonoma, and Tulare.

The severe storms, which started in late February, have damaged critical infrastructure, including federal and state roadways, and forced evictions.  Additional storms are forecasted to continue to threaten counties across California, bringing strong winds, blizzard conditions across the Sierra Nevada mountains, above normal precipitations, and unusually cold temperatures. 

This resource contains member-only content

CAA members have access to compliance forms, educational tools, and extended news resources related to this topic.