Santa Rosa considers just-cause-for-eviction ordinance 

0

The Santa Rosa City Council next week will consider adopting an “urgency” just-cause-for-eviction ordinance, which would require rental property owners to prove “cause” in court or before a political body every time they need to remove a problem resident.

An “urgency” ordinance, on the Tuesday, July 19 agenda, would require a five-vote majority for passage and would take effect immediately. If the urgency ordinance fails to garner the necessary five votes, a “non-urgency” just-cause-eviction ordinance will be introduced and would only require four votes, and if passed at a second reading, would take effect 30 days later.

CAA opposes this ordinance and will continue to actively advocate against just-cause eviction policies in Santa Rosa.


To get involved 

Speak out at the meeting: The Santa Rosa City Council convenes its regular meeting at 4 p.m. Tuesday, July 19, at City Hall, Council Chambers, 100 Santa Rosa Ave.

Contact the mayor and council today: We need you to continue to contact City Council and tell them just cause evictions will do more harm than good, and will not make our neighborhoods safer.

  • Just-cause-for-eviction measures protect bad residents at the expense of good residents.
  • If a problem resident is terrorizing their neighbors, under just cause, the property owner must definitively prove the events that have happened.
  • Property owners are not interested in evicting residents for no reason—its costs money to have units turn over.
  • Just cause will encourage owners to get out of the rental business, meaning less rental units on the market.
  • The associated legal processes are costly and time consuming. Rental property owners would have to depose and subpoena other residents to testify.
  • Santa Rosa should focus on educating residents on their protections under existing law, instructing owners on their obligations, and enforcing the laws we have in place.

Contact information:
Chris Coursey, council member: 707-527-6588, ccoursey@srcity.org
Gary Wysocky, council member: 707-575-3820, gwysocky@srcity.org
Erin Carlstrom, council member: 707-321-0278, ecarlstrom@srcity.org
Julie Combs, council member: 707-542-1906, jcombs@srcity.org
John Sawyer, mayor: 707-578-6006, jsawyer@srcity.org
Ernesto Olivares, council member: 707-975-0023, eolivares@srcity.org
Tom Schwedhelm, vice mayor: 707-326-4495, tschwedhelm@srcity.org


Related content:

Tagged: North Bay