Knowledge Base: Form
Three-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit (Proof of Service)
This notice is served when the rent is past due and notifies the tenant that the rent must be paid within 3 days or the property surrendered. Proof of Service attached.
Effective January 1, 2020, AB 1482 will impose rent caps on most residential rental properties in California and imposes “just cause” eviction requirements. To determine whether AB 1482 applies to your property, and whether the tenancy at issue is protected by just cause, visit /ab1482/. If the tenancy is protected by just cause, AB 1482 prohibits a landlord from (1) terminating a month-to-month tenancy or (2) choosing not to renew a fixed term lease, without providing an allowed reason for termination.
Failure to pay rent is an allowed reason for termination.
This form can be used regardless of whether your property is subject to AB 1482.
CAUTION: As of Aug. 31, 2020, a new California law changes the rules for evictions. DO NOT serve a 3-day notice or other notice to terminate the tenancy without first visiting caanet.org/ab3088 for more information.