Knowledge Base

Search Results

Displaying 1–10 of 16 results

Knowledge Base Entry: Anti-Price Gouging Laws – States of Emergency

California’s anti-price gouging statute, Penal Code Section 396, prohibits individuals, specified industries, and service providers from raising the price of many consumer goods and services by more than 10 percent...

Knowledge Base Entry: Complying with the City of Alameda’s Rent Control Program

The City of Alameda’s rent control program has been enacted through a series of ordinances over the years. The original program became effective in 2015. In the summer of 2019,...

Knowledge Base Entry: Counting Days – When counting the number of days for a 3-, 30-, or 60-day notice, do I count the day of service?

To view the answer to this question, please sign in, or become a member.

Knowledge Base Entry: Hayward’s Residential Rent Stabilization and Tenant Protection Ordinance – Compliance

In 2019, the City of Hayward updated its 39-year-old rent stabilization ordinance. Effective July 25, 2019, the new Residential Rent Stabilization and Tenant Protection Ordinance (RRSO) (1) expands the properties...

Knowledge Base Entry: Ninety-Day Notice of Change of Monthly Rent (Properties Exempt from State and Local Rent Control)

Effective January 1, 2020, a ninety-day notice is required for increases of more than 10% (cumulatively) in any 12-month period for a month-to-month tenancy for a rental unit that is...

Knowledge Base Entry: Notice of AB 1482 Rent Rollback

This form allows a Landlord to give notice to a Resident if a Rent Rollback is required under AB 1482. Effective January 1, 2020, AB 1482 imposes Rent Caps and...

Knowledge Base Entry: Notice of Applicability of San Jose Rent Freeze to Pending Rent Increase With Blank Declaration of COVID-19-Related Financial Distress – City of San Jose

On February 2, 2021, the San Jose City Council adopted a rent freeze ordinance. This ordinance places a moratorium on rent increases for residents of rent controlled units who have...

Knowledge Base Entry: Payment of Rent and Security Deposits: Cash and Electronic Funds Transfer

Under California law, a landlord cannot mandate that tenants pay the rent or security deposits with cash or electronic funds transfers as the only forms of payment. To be clear,...

Knowledge Base Entry: Rent Increases: 30- and 90-Day Notice Requirements

AB 1110 was signed by the Governor on October 8th. It will take effect on January 1, 2020 and requires a 90 days’ written notice when rental property owners increase...

Knowledge Base Entry: Richmond’s Rent Control Law – Compliance

Complying with Richmond’s Rent Control Law On November 8, 2016, Richmond voters adopted the Richmond Fair Rent, Just Cause for Eviction, and Homeowner Protection Ordinance, known as Measure L. This...